Barcelona!

So I’m a week late (my bad), but last weekend was a Spanish holiday and my school had monday off, so two friends and I took off for a little vacay in Barcelona! We arrived Thursday night and stayed at a lovely little AirBnb near the Plaza de Espanya, which was a great location for doing all things touristy.

Friday we woke up early and headed out for a full day city-bus tour (touristy and tacky, I know, but check out my post about it on Theory 64). Our first stop was Camp Nou- F.C. Barcelona’s football stadium. Here’s a pic of me trying out for the team!

IMG_2892

After Camp Nou, we headed into town to see some of the more famous Gaudí buildings, and while I was impressed with the style and architecture, we were bummed about the prices to enter and the length of the queues, so we admired them from afar. (Note: Barcelona is expensive. Relatively few tourist sites are accessible for free).

IMG_2904 IMG_2908

After visiting the Gaudí buildings, we headed to the Gothic Cathedral that we, once again, viewed from afar as there was an entrance fee. Quite a lovely building, but I think the one in Sevilla is more impressive… maybe I’m just biased.

IMG_2914

Here is a snap I took while we were at the cruise port- my favorite location of the weekend. There was a general hustle and bustle within the area but a relaxed atmosphere at the same time. I managed to consume a chocolate crepe, waffle, and bucket of popcorn on my visit, in addition to bargaining for a new pair of sunnies, which must be why it takes number one on my list.

IMG_2917

We ended the day by paying to enter Parque Guell, which I must say was the biggest let down of the trip. Maybe because I had built up the image so much in my mind, or maybe because it cost 8 euros to enter (what should be) a public park, it was a let down nonetheless. I thought there would be a great deal more of mosaic and candy-land-esque buildings, but what I found instead was a tiled bench overcrowded with tourists and dirty so dusty it stained my shoes.

IMG_2924 IMG_2935

After our first night out in Barcelona we really needed to rest, so we took the day easy and roamed about la Parc de la Ciutadella. It was an absolutely beautiful day and the park was alive with street performers of all kinds from musicians to puppeteers to people with giant bubble machines. I would love to go back with a picnic packed and spend the day laying on the lawns!

IMG_2952

To finish off the night we went to the Magic Fountain in the Plaza de Espanya near our house to watch the water show. The water coordinated with lights which (was supposed to) coordinate with music. It was a cool show, considering the fountain is close to 100 years old, and I’m really glad we got to see it.

IMG_2973 IMG_2974

On our last day in Barcelona we had tickets to enter the Sagrada Familia, which is one of the coolest buildings I’ve seen in my lifetime. After seeing it I cannot wrap my mind around the fact that Gaudí had all the plans set for the building before his death (almost 100 years ago!!). I can not begin to comprehend how someone could picture all the little detail that has gone into this building, and I am very impressed with the outcome thus far.

IMG_2980  IMG_2993 IMG_2996

Our Barcelona weekend was so much fun, and while I thought the city was absolutely gorgeous, I’m not sure it’s on my list of places to go back to just yet. It was definitely a lot smaller than I had pictured, and again the prices of attractions was a little unsettling for me. I won’t write it off my list- but let’s see where I go to next!

2 thoughts on “Barcelona!

Lay it on me (please)

