The Back-to-School Craze

Alright, so it’s been a week since I’ve last posted and that’s driving me crazy, but coming back to school really takes up all of a person’s time. The start of classes usually gives me a sort of what-am-I-doing-with-my-life panic attack as I see everyone else who seems to have it together a lot more than I do. Maybe they’re actually all like me, panicking on the inside and maintaining calm on the outside, but who knows. So, in my state of panic, I did something a little extreme: I got two jobs. The first one I got is easy; I tutor an 8th grade boy in algebra and physics on Tuesdays and Thursdays for two hours each night. The bummer here is that getting to his house during rush hour makes my 11 mile drive a 45 minute endeavor accompanied by me eating a pb&j sandwich dinner in the car. It’s a sad sight, really. But my second job is a little more exciting. I got a job in a research lab at my school’s psych department doing research with kids in Head Start programs. The coolest part is that it is a bilingual lab, and after a lot of anxiety and self-doubt, I passed a make-shift test that qualified me to work in the lab speaking both English and Spanish. Honestly, I’m really proud of myself for doing it. But, of course, there is a downside to everything  and this job’s is that I have to be at the office at 7:30 a.m. I am definitely not a morning person, so this is going to be a huge challenge, but I’m excited nonetheless.

I’ll make sure to keep you all updated during this major transition in my life, but my posts may be slightly more sporadic as I have ample amounts of training in the upcoming weeks. Thank you all for your support and for reading!

One thought on “The Back-to-School Craze

Lay it on me (please)

