The Weekend Recap

This is a fun one, I promise.

In mid-July I saw a post on Facebook that my absolute favorite artist, Kenny Chesney, would be performing a free concert in the state of Florida in August. I was so excited about this because I knew I’d be in August in Florida and could see him play if I got tickets, but my mood went significantly downhill when I found out that his show would be on the Flora-Bama, the state line located near Pensacola, Florida on the beach that separates Florida and Alabama. For those who don’t know, I go to school in Miami, so the Flora-Bama is as far away from Miami as you can get without leaving the state. But being the committed Kenny Chesney fan that I am, I woke up at 6:00 am on the day the tickets were to be released to try and get some (which I did) and convinced a friend to come on the 11 hour drive it would take to get there.

So Friday morning I woke up at 7:00 am to get ready to leave, and after a quick stop at a local diner, my friend and I headed off on our 11 hour journey to a Red Roof Inn in Pensacola. We made a few stops, taking our time as we went, and arrived at the hotel at about 7:00 pm after an unplanned time change. We grabbed dinner and saw the area a bit before heading to bed to get rest for the long day that was ahead of us.

We woke up early on Saturday morning and, after stopping for breakfast at McDonalds, made it to the shuttle bus location that was to take us to the beach for the concert. Somehow we managed to avoid paying for bus passes and saved ourselves $25 each, a nice start to the day. Arriving at the beach we could see boats lined up at the edge of the shore with people cooling off in the water. It was crowded and hot, but the morning was awesome as we swam in the Gulf amongst boats blasting good music and people having good times. As the heat of the day got worse, we got in line for lunch, which ended up taking about two hours to pay and wait for a single burger, but hey, it was a free concert so I can’t complain. At 5:00 pm Kenny came on and played a great show with old and new music for almost two and a half hours. We met some cool people during that time, and one not-so-cool chick who actually told us she was miserable and hated Kenny Chesney and didn’t want to be there (Ok, so leave). The whole day was awesome, despite the few times I thought I was going to pass out, and it will definitely go in my book as one of the best concerts I’ve ever been to.

Sunday morning we woke up early to head home, but as we got closer to Orlando we made an impromptu decision to make a pit stop at Walt Disney World. We got to the Magic Kingdom at 4:00 pm and found it was open until 11:00 pm, so we thought it was worth it to buy a ticket and go in. The lines were not bad at all for a late summer weekend, and by the time the park closed we managed to hit ten rides and see some of the fireworks and light parade. The only downfall was that we didn’t get to meet Anna and Elsa (we love Frozen) because the line was 90 minutes long, but we did meet our other goal of going on the Pirates of the Caribbean ride. We stayed until park closing and really got our money’s worth for the day.

The best part? When we left and realized we were hungry from not eating dinner, we decided to stop at Wawa on International Drive. For those of you who don’t know, Wawa’s really only exist in the mid-Atlantic region of the country and are the best gas station/convenience store/fast food place in the entire world, so I was ecstatic to get a chance to go while in Florida. After our midnight dinner we hit the road and, after making excellent time, made it home by 3:30 am.

I must say, it was quite the weekend, and I don’t think a weekend could ever be better than this one. If you know me at all, you would know that Kenny Chesney, Wawa and Disney World are some of my most favorite things in the world, and having them all happen within a 24 hour time period was a truly incredible experience.

2 thoughts on “The Weekend Recap

Lay it on me (please)

