I’m Finally Certified!

In late May I came across a blog post by a woman who had just signed up to take an online course for Teaching English as a Foreign Language. Nowhere in my life plan did I have “teacher” on the agenda, but I read her post and saw that the 150 master course, which is usually over $500, had a groupon offer for $49.99. I was in the middle of a what-am-I-doing-with-my-life teenage crisis and combined with being bored over the summer, I thought it would be a cool opportunity, so I signed up too.

The course was 150 hours, made up of 8 modules, and completely online with two assignments and two tests. Before leaving for Spain I had about 3 modules done and both assignments. When I returned, I got more focused and put more time into the class. Just last night I took the final exam and passed with a 94%, giving me an A average for the course, which I’m very happy about.

Don’t get me wrong, I still really don’t have “teacher” in mind as a career option or anything, but having the certification is definitely a nice safety net for if all else fails. Plus, I think when I’m done with school I’ll just take a year off to live somewhere new and adventure, while supporting myself by teaching English. And for now, I have something cool and different to put on my resume. Things are looking up.

2 thoughts on “I’m Finally Certified!

Lay it on me (please)

