I Am a Terrible Road Tripper

I realize the title of this post makes my last post sound entirely falsified, but hear me out. I am good at preparing for a road trip, as well as the logistics of going about it, but it’s the actual act of driving that gets me.

Yesterday my mother, sister, grandfather and I headed off at 5:00 pm to begin our 14-or-so hour long car journey to Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, my mom and grandfather in her car and my sister and I in mine. We stopped twice for food and bathroom related needs but otherwise were making good time. We had booked a hotel in Roanoke Rapids, located at the very top of North Carolina off of I-95, and were hoping to be there around midnight. I was feeling pretty tired around 10:30 when I got a call from my mom’s car ahead of us saying that we probably wouldn’t make it to the hotel until 1:00 am. Well, shit.

As I struggled to keep my eyes open, I forced my sister to play games with me and continuously drank water hoping to wake myself up again. Nothing seemed to work. Finally, I scared myself so much when I closed my eyes and had to force myself to open them, I knew it wasn’t safe to continue. So I called my mom to ask if my grandfather could drive, and luckily for me he said he was awake enough to finish the drive.

Honestly, I’m pretty disappointed in myself for not being able to do the drive entirely on my own, even though I only had to hand over the wheel for a little over an hour. Despite it all, though, I know I made the right decision. I never thought “driving tired” was a thing that actually happened, just something they advertise in driving classes as a possibility. I thought as long as I was occupied, even in driving, I would be able to stay awake. Now I realize how real and dangerous the concept really is. So there you have it, I am a bad road tripper, but I learned my lesson and will no longer allow myself to drive tired.

Be safe everyone.

Lay it on me (please)

