The Weekend Recap

This weekend was off to a quick start on Friday night when my mother, sister and I all headed into the city around 5:00 pm. It was my mother’s birthday and I had successfully surprised her with tickets to see Aladdin on broadway, something she had been wanting to see for a while. I gave them to her on Friday morning, and got the exact reaction I wanted: She was worried I hadn’t remembered that she works at the YMCA on Fridays nights. Much to her surprise (I think), I told her that I had gotten her shift covered by a coworker months beforehand and it was not to worry.

There was a substantial amount of traffic heading into the Lincoln Tunnel, which is to be expected for a Friday night, so we ended up pulling into a parking garage at 7:48, twelve minutes before show time. We booked it up two blocks through crowds of people to the New Amsterdam Theater on 42nd street and made it to our seats with two minutes to spare. And it was a good thing, too, because the show was absolutely phenomenal; I wouldn’t have wanted to miss a second. There were ample amounts of comic relief, and the show mainly stayed on par with the film version, albeit a few changes to the plot. I would definitely recommend it if you’re going to be in the city in the near future.

Saturday was a hot, hot day, which I spent mainly indoors shopping for food for a barbecue. We have just opened the pool at my mom’s house and I’m leaving for school in a few days, so we had the perfect excuse to have a party. The night was awesome, not too hot, but still warm enough to swim, and we did plenty of it. We also had lots of food and played a few good rounds of Cards Against Humanity, also known as the best game in the world.

Sunday was quiet, and I spent most of the day inside applying for jobs and internships at school. Later, I switched my attention to my online TEFL certification course and put in a solid amount of time. I am proud to say I am three-fourths of the way done with the certification and expect to be finished within the week.

This week the chaos continues as I pack up my entire life at home to head to vacation on Hilton Head Island, and ultimately school.

One thought on “The Weekend Recap

Lay it on me (please)

